The annual UWA Alumni Awards Ceremony was held On October 28, 2017 at 10 a.m. in Brock Hall.

UWA had three former students athletes inducted into the Athletics Hall of Fame. Former football players Kendrick Office Charles Martin, as well as former UWA softball player Vlisha Fincher were honored for their accomplishments both on and off the field.

In addition to the honored athletes, all five of UWA’s colleges and divisions honored one or more alumni on Saturday morning.

UWA Loyalty, Faculty/Staff Loyalty, Outstanding UWA Alumni Chapter and West Alabama Community Service awards were also administered at the ceremony.

Award recipients, in no particular order, are as follows:

College of Education– Lucretia S. Prince and Marlon Murray

Online Programs– David Wofford

College of Liberal Arts– Melissa J. Bailey and Brittany Harris

College of Natural Sciences and Mathematics– Heath Townsend and Derrick Hester

Division of Nursing– Lynn Lashley and Trent J. Hughes

College of Business– Charlie Willie and Veronica Triplett

Service Awards– James A. “Tony” Holmes, Dr. J.J. Wedgworth, Wilcox County Alumni Chapter, Big Mike’s Steakhouse

Alumni awards are administered during the Homecoming weekend each year at UWA. Recipients are nominated by their respective parties and receive commemorative placards during the ceremony.

%d bloggers like this:
Visit Us On FacebookVisit Us On InstagramVisit Us On Twitter